Hello Madrid! / ¡Hola Madrid!

Hi guys.

I can start this post by saying that a have a quite a lot a reasons why I’m a bit crazy, and one of them is the fact that I actually took two huge suitcases on a train to Madrid.

I found my compartment to be shared with two very nice old ladies, who became even nicer for not complaining about the space they were deprived of because of my suitcases, unlike the ticket man that complained all the time and didn’t even help! The funny thing was that I got to spend some time talking a mixture of Portuguese and Spanish because none of those ladies seemed to decide whether they talked one or the other. They were travelling to Spain on vacation, but essentially to visit their families that had to emigrate there, because there were no opportunities in the job market for them. It’s similar to my situation really. Well, sort of.

Let’s talk a bit about this. I suppose it would be very cool to actually finish a degree in Portugal and have suitable job openings without any kind of exploitation, to not make us consider leaving our home and country. In part that’s exactly my story: there’s no employment in my field of study – not only because of the economic crisis, but also because it’s a difficult field itself -, and after throwing into the trash the offers that suck for all valuable reasons, you end up with very few options that are clogged with thousands of applicants who are all looking for the same thing, a job. The other side of my story is that I studied International Relations because I wanted to see the world, participate in all kinds of adventures, experience everything that’s new and worth of creating a memory; get an international job, work for the international community would be pure heaven. So, I don’t have a job in Portugal, but that doesn’t bother me much, compared to others, because I essentially look for opportunities outside of Portugal. Of course in the beginning it takes some time to get used to it (remember my frustrations with Brazil?), but after a while everything gets right back into its place and you have the best time ever.

Anyway, this trip was pretty much trying to get some sleep. I was tired enough and the sound of the train sliding through the track made all the surrounding quite like a lullaby. So I did sleep, it wasn’t like sleeping in my lovely awesome bed, but pretty good for a train.

When I arrived in Madrid around 9 a.m., I immediately regretted the suitcases. To take the bags out of the train was complicated enough, so when I got them all out I was already sweating like a marathon athlete. Then I had to take some time to bring the baggage to the first taxi that I could find. Everything always works out great, and I ended up almost circulating the entire station to find a taxi, only to have a middle aged man with a moustache (who knew right? Almost a cliché) complaining again about how heavy my suitcases were.

I’d just arrived, and I was determined to make the first day as fun as I could, so I just teased the man. “So, Mr., I’m a girl, and a girl must always pack all the diverse clothes, fabulous shoes, and colourful make up, to be ready to go into society. I also had to bring my massage inflatable maîtres and my yoga tapes to reduce stress of working too much!” For the ones who know me, you pretty much know that’s quite the opposite of me, but I think the taxi man just became more confused. Maybe my Spanish was not clear enough.

As I crossed the streets of Madrid I got a bit excited. The Tetuán district and surroundings are some kind of a New York small neighbourhood, mixed with London and Porto. Weird combination but that was my first impression. It was about the colours of the buildings, the people in the streets, the stores and the trees.

I got out of the taxi right at my door. Probably trying to avoid carrying the suitcases for a few meters to the door, I actually took the time to enjoy the feeling of being, once again, in a different town, with the awesome sensation of not having any idea of what was going to happen.

Took a deep breath and looked around to the stores, to the trees, to the cars, to the people, who had no idea this girl had just arrived to a new house in a new country.

Smile: I’m getting to know Madrid, and Madrid is getting to know me.

 

¡Hola Madrid!

See you guys in the next post.

Ana.

P.S.: I should have done this a while ago but please know that anything you might want to comment or whatever, feel free to contact me!


Olá Pessoal.

Posso começar este post a dizer que sou maluca por muitas razões, e uma delas é pelo facto de ter trazido duas malas gigantes num comboio para Madrid.

Fiquei a saber que iria partilhar o meu compartimento com duas senhoras já de uma certa idade muito simpáticas, que se tornaram ainda mais simpáticas por não se queixarem de serem privadas do seu espaço por causa das minhas malas, ao contrário do pica que só se sabia queixar e nem quis ajudar. A parte engraçada é que passei boa parte do tempo a falar uma mistura de Português e Espanhol porque nenhuma das senhoras parecia decidir-se qual das línguas queria falar. Estavam ambas a viajar para Espanha em férias, mas para visitar a família que teve de emigrar, porque não tinham oportunidades no mercado de trabalho. A situação é semelhante à minha. Bem, mais ou menos.

Vamos falar sobre isto. Suponho que seria altamente acabar um grau académico em Portugal e ter logo vagas de emprego adequadas, sem qualquer tipo de exploração, para não considerarmos deixar a nossa casa ou país. Em parte, é exactamente essa a minha história: não há emprego na minha área de estudo – não apenas devido à crise económica, mas também porque já por si só é uma área difícil -, e depois de atirar para o lixo as ofertas que não prestam por uma boa quantidade de razões, acaba-se com muito poucas opções, que estão congestionadas com centenas de candidatos à procura do mesmo, de um emprego. O outro lado da minha história é que eu estudei Relações Internacionais porque queria ver o mundo, participar em todo o tipo de aventuras, experimentar tudo o que seja novo e que valha a pena criar memória; ter um emprego internacional, trabalhar para a comunidade internacional seria o céu. Conclusão, eu não tenho emprego em Portugal, mas isso não me incomoda muito, em comparação com outros, porque procuro essencialmente oportunidades fora de Portugal. Claro que no início leva algum tempo até me habituar (lembram-se das minhas frustrações no Brasil?), mas passado algum tempo tudo se encaixa no sítio e é tudo altamente.

Enfim, a viagem foi passada a tentar dormir. Estava cansada o suficiente e o som do comboio a deslizar sobre a via férrea fez com que tudo parecesse uma canção de embalar. Então acabei por dormir, não como se estivesse na minha querida e espectacular cama, mas bem para um comboio.

Quando cheguei a Madrid por volta das 9h, arrependi-me imediatamente de ter trazido aquelas malas. Para as tirar do comboio foi complicado o suficiente, e quando completei a tarefa estava já a suar como um atleta olímpico. Tive de dedicar algum tempo a trazer a bagagem até ao primiro taxi que consegui encontrar. Como tudo corre sempre bem, quase que circulei a estação toda até encontrar um táxi, para me calhar um homem de meia idade com um bigode (quem diria! Quase um cliché) a queixar-se outra vez do quão pesadas as minhas malas eram.

Tinha acabado de chegar e estava determinada a fazer do primeiro dia o mais divertido possível, portanto brinquei um pouco com o homem. “Então, caro senhor, eu sou uma menina, e uma menina precisa sempre de trazer as suas roupas, os seus sapatos fabulosos, e a sua maquilhagem colorida, para estar pronta para se apresentar em público. Tive também de trazer o meu colchão de massagens insuflável e as minhas cassetes de yoga para reduzir o stress do trabalho!” Para aqueles que me conhecem, sabem perfeitamente que não tem nada a ver comigo, mas acho que o homem só ficou mais confuso ainda. Se calhar o meu espanhol não foi claro o suficiente.

Asim que atravessava as ruas de Madrid estava cada vez mais entusiasmada. O distrito de Tetuán e arredores parecem uma pequena vizinhança de New York, misturada com Londres e Porto. Uma combinação estranha, mas foi a minha primeira impressão. Era pelas cores dos edifícios, pelas pessoas na rua, pelas lojas e pelas árvores.

Saí do taxi mesmo em frente à minha porta. Estava provavelmente a empatar ter de carregar as malas até à porta do prédio, mas parei um pouco para desfrutar daquele sentimento de estar, mais uma vez, numa cidade diferente, com aquela sensação altamente de não ter qualquer ideia do que vai acontecer a seguir.

Inspirei e observei as lojas, as árvores, os carros, as pessoas, que não faziam ideia de que esta rapariga tinha acabado de chegar à sua nova casa num novo país.

Sorri: Vou conhecer Madrid, e Madrid vai-me conhecer.

 

¡Hola Marid!

Até ao próximo post.

Ana

P.S.: Já o devia ter feito há algum tempo, mas saibam que algo que queiram comentar ou dizer, estejam a vontade para contactar!

Published by

anavingada

I'm dreamer and a writer. Changing the world is my greatest ambition. I studied International Relations and I love everything related to the environment and animal species. I never miss a chance to travel feel the adrenaline of trying on new things. Dancing is my hobby and Capoeira is my passion. Chocolate and movies are my addictions. Life is a challenge! "Laughter is timeless, imagination has no age, and dreams are forever." Walt Disney

Leave a Reply

