How to teach? / Como ensinar?

Hello everyone. I’m sorry I’ve been away.

There are times that I believe I don’t have a social life, but for my absence this entire time, I have to admit that I have not only a life but a lot of work, a lot of “social” activities, a lot of friends and a lot of goals to reach throughout the days. But now I’m back and I would like to share with you my experience of teaching in the last 6 months or so. I never thought I could learn so much from being a teacher, from the kids that I had the opportunity to teach something, and from people that worked with me in similar posts. My goal is to share with you guys today two main things that I learned.

I have a bachelors and a masters degree in International relations so it’s pertinent to ask what have I been doing teaching. When I arrived from Brazil I started my intensive and frustrating journey to find a job that somehow would relate to my degrees. One of my applications was for the World Tourism Organization, otherwise I wouldn’t be there in July! But imagine as months go by and nothing special in your life happens, except for troubles and dramas that prevailed in the last months of 2015. The thing was that I had to find something part-time that would allow me to continue to search for a job but also get myself occupied and active, and, of course, to won an extra cash for my savings and to go to the cinema without having to ask my mother for money.

Around December I actually had that amazing luck and got a part-time job as a teacher in a study centre in my home town, and a few weeks later I started giving classes of English to a boy that wanted to learn the language.

They were only 10 kids, and as the months passed they were less and less. But what did I learn? I learned the hard thing, the answer for how to teach. Everyone is different, so you have to adapt yourself, you have to constantly review what you know, and how do you explain it to others. I learned that, unfortunately, nowadays, kids have everything and beyond made for them, the answers right under their noses, and still they don’t care to be better, they don’t want to try. They don’t give themselves the trouble of at least reading the sheet they have in front of them, they rather ask for help, and when we don’t give them exactly the answer, they become angry and they misbehave.

I not that old, but I recognize the differences. In my time, maybe 15 years ago, I could never in my life say that I didn’t want to work, or that I didn’t understand what was on my paper, because I would get a well deserved shove and sermon of why should I know how to do whatever I had to do. In school, I learned, I always tried to be better all the time, no matter what. What I learned in my recent experience is that kids are no longer like this. There are always exceptions of course, but most care about their mobile phones and what they are wearing.  They don’t take up their free time to actually run around the streets and fall every once in a while and get a taste of freedom!

One day I caught one of them playing with her cell phone while in study hour and I asked her to let go of her device and she actually told me in arrogant tone that I would have to wait for her to finish what she was doing. And when I told her to give me her phone, she said that I could not do it, because no one was allowed to touch her, otherwise she would complain to her parents. How ridiculous is that??!! So, the lesson for this is: adapt yourself, kids don’t care and they have the world at their feet.

Eventually that centre study closed the room of study and remained only as a language school. I still give classes there; I have one more student for a couple more of classes. He is my age, and he wants to learn. It’s completely different, not only for his age, but also because of the fact that he wants to learn, he gives an effort to it, and he knows that he has to work hard to learn the language. But moving on…

In April, I was again without a part-time, and even though teaching is not my favourite thing in the world, I decided to try again, just until I go to Madrid. I got lucky again, and started working in a study centre in a town about 12 km from Espinho, with 80 students. Thank god this time was only English and French, with kids rotating all the time! But sometimes there are 20 kids at the same time in the same classroom, so it’s a real challenge for me.

The centre is very well organised, so I got pretty happy when I was told that kids weren’t allowed cell phones in the classroom, and that they had an evaluation sheet, where they had to put the hours of study, the subjects that they studied that day, and they would get a grade in the end of each day depending on their work and behaviour. The kids were great, most of them. There are always the annoying and impolite ones, but the majority were very cool, nice and hard-working, with the occasional “mind flips”, normal and comprehensible in people that age.  But sometimes things didn’t go that well, I would like to tell you about one in particular, that made me think about writing this very same post.

This one really disturbed me. One of the boys had this obsession of entering in the English room, even if he was studying something else. One of the times he came with a moustache like Hitler painted on his face, he raised his hand and said “Heil Hitler”. I take these things very seriously, and when I was his age I already knew the history behind that disgusting salute, and still, that boy smiled proudly like it was some kind of joke, unconsciously insulting thousands of innocent people who died at the hands of intolerance and human cruelty. At first, I said to him that he must take that thing out of him, but he had the nerve of asking of what was the problem. I lost my own nerve. I opened a loose history book and showed him the history, I told him the atrocities of that time, and he still didn’t give a f*** about it!

I realized something that day: what I learned in my short life that is absolutely a certainty is that history MUST NOT be forgotten, whether it is personal history, humanitarian history, scientific history, universal history, literally everything that happened in the past. But the fact that a 15 year old boy doesn’t care about the Holocaust only proves why the world is heading to something similar again, because history has been forgotten, because no one longer remembers what happened and what it meant for Earth and all living things in it. In 2014, I was in Auschwitz, Poland, the biggest concentration camp, and that horrible place is turned into a tourism standpoint. I saw people taking pictures and smiling at the camera, I saw people commenting about shoes in the museum that were so old fashioned that people should never have wear them, instead of focusing on the number of people they represented. I saw people talking loudly, without any respect for the dead in the main gas chamber of the concentration camp. It’s the old saying: You must learn to forgive and move forward, but that doesn’t mean you have to forget what happened. You learn from it, so that history doesn’t repeat itself. And this lesson applies to everything in life. A lesson to take for life!

The thing is: teaching the normal subjects at school is already difficult, but how do we teach kids, the next generations, about these matters? About the real meaning of knowing history, what it meant, and how we can change the world by not repeating the same mistakes again? How can we teach kids that maths sucks, but it’s very useful for everyday’s activities? How can we teach kids that languages are important for human beings to communicate with each other? That no language is truly universal, but there is always a way to communicate, that we actually try to learn the language of others instead of focusing on our own, like if it is the only language that matters? How can we teach them the importance of understanding why it rains, and how does it rain, why it snows on the mountains and not on the beach? Of course none of these kids has the maturity or the age to understand why, but at least they could believe us, older people, when we tell them that on this precise moment they won’t understand, they will only learn, but in the future everything will fall into its place? That they will understand why?

For me that’s the true question! How to teach kids about everything that is important?

Thanks for reading so much frustration, please feel free to comment or discuss.

Next time I hope to be telling you about something of great happiness for a great day approaches, because not everything in life is bad.

See you.

Ana


Olá a todos. Peço desculpa pela minha ausência.

Há alturas em que acredito que não tenho vida social, mas pela minha ausência, tenho de admitir que não tenho só uma vida, como muito trabalho, montes de actividades “sociais”, bons amigos e muitos objectivos para cumprir ao longo dos dias. Mas agora estou de volta e gostava de partilhar convosco a minha experiência como professora nos últimos 6 meses. Nunca pensei que pudesse aprender tanto com a posição de professora, com os miúdos que tive a oportunidade de ensinar, e com as pessoas com quem trabalhei. O meu objectivo é partilhar hoje com vocês duas coisas importantes que aprendi.

Eu tenho licenciatura e mestrado em relações internacionais, logo é pertinente perguntar que estive eu a fazer a ensinar. Quando cheguei do Brasil comecei com a minha intensiva e frustrante procura por um trabalho que tivesse qualquer coisa relacionada com o meu curso. Uma das minhas candidaturas foi para a Organização Mundial do Turismo, caso contrário não iria para lá em Julho! Mas imaginem meses a passar sem nada de especial a acontecer na vida, excepto problemas e dramas que prevaleceram nos últimos meses de 2015. Eu tinha de encontrar um part-time que me permitisse continuar a procurar emprego, mas também para me manter ocupada e activa e, claro, para poupar e ir ao cinema sem ter de pedir dinheiro à minha mãe.

Em Dezembro tive sorte e consegui um part-time como professora num centro de estudos na minha terra, e umas semanas mais tarde comecei a dar aulas de inglês a um rapaz que queria aprender a língua.

A sala só tinha 10 miúdos, e com o passar dos meses eles eram cada vez menos. Mas o que é que eu aprendi? Aprendi o mais difícil, a resposta para como ensinar. Todos são diferentes, logo uma pessoa tem de se adaptar, rever constantemente o que sabe, e saber como explicá-lo aos outros. Eu aprendi que, infelizmente, hoje em dia, os miúdos têm tudo e mais alguma coisa feito por eles, as respostas mesmo debaixo dos seus narizes, e mesmo assim não têm qualquer interesse em se esforçarem, nem sequer querem tentar. Não se dão ao trabalho de ao menos lerem o papel que têm à frente, pois é mais fácil pedir ajuda, e quando não lhes damos as respostas, os miúdos ficam zangados e portam-se mal.

Eu não sou assim tão velha, mas já reconheço as diferenças do tempo. No meu tempo, talvez há 15 anos atrás, nunca na minha vida eu podia dizer que não queria trabalhar, ou que não percebia o que estava no meu papel, pois levava um bem merecido safanão e um sermão de por que é que eu deveria saber o que tinha de fazer. Na escola aprendia e tentava sempre o meu melhor a toda a hora, acontecesse o que acontecesse. O que aprendi com esta recente experiência é que os miúdos já não são mais assim. Há sempre excepções, claro, mas a maior parte só quer saber dos telemóveis e do que vestem. Não aproveitam o tempo livre para correr na rua e cair de vez em quando para ter um gosto da liberdade!

Um dia apanhei uma delas a brincar com o telemóvel na hora de estudo e pedi-lhe para o guardar, ao que ela me respondeu com tom arrogante que eu tinha de esperar até ela acabar o que estava a fazer. Quando lhe disse para me dar o telemóvel, ela disse-me que eu não podia fazer nada, porque ninguém tinha permissão para lhe tocar, ou ia fazer queixa aos pais. O quão ridículo é isto? A lição é esta: adapta-te, os miúdos não querem saber pois têm o mundo aos pés deles.

Eventualmente aquele centro de estudos fechou a sala e passou a funcionar apenas como escola de línguas. Ainda lá dou aula; tenho um estudante por mais 2 aulas. Tem a minha idade e quer aprender. É completamente diferente, não só pela sua idade, mas pelo facto de ele querer mesmo aprender, esforça-se pois sabe que tem de trabalhar a sério para aprender a língua. Mas avançando…

Em Abril estava novamente sem part-time, e apesar de ensinar não ser a minha actividade preferido, decidi tentar outra vez até ir para Madrid. Tive sorte oura vez, e comecei a trabalhar num centro de estudos numa terra a cerca de 12 km de Espinho, com 80 estudantes. Ainda bem que desta vez era só para Inglês e Francês, com os miúdos a rodarem. Mas às vezes estavam 20 miúdos ao mesmo tempo na mesma sala, o que constituía um enorme desafio.

O centro está muito bem organizado; Até fiquei contente quando me disseram que não era permitido levar os telemóveis para as salas, tinham uma ficha de avaliação para pôr as horas de estudo, as disciplinas que estudaram e era-lhes atribuída uma nota no fim de cada dia dependendo do trabalho e do comportamento. Os miúdos eram altamente, a maior parte. Há sempre os chatinhos e os mal-educados, mas a maior parte era muito fixe, simpática e trabalhadora, com as ocasionais maluquices, normal e compreensível em pessoas daquela idade. Mas às vezes as coisas não corriam bem, e gostaria de partilhar uma situação em particular, que fez com que decidisse escrever este mesmo post.

Um dos rapazes tinha uma obsessão em andar a saltar de sala em sala. Uma das vezes foi parar à minha com um bigode a imitar o Hitler pintado na cara. Levantou a mão e disse “Heil Hitler”. Eu levo estas coisas a sério, e já quando tinha a ideia dele sabia a história por detrás daquela nojenta saudação e, mesmo assim, o rapaz sorriu orgulhosamente como se tivesse dito alguma piada, a insultar inconscientemente milhares de pessoas inocentes que morreram às mãos da intolerância e crueldade humana. A princípio eu disse-lhe para ele tirar aquilo, mas ele teve a lata de me perguntar qual era o problema. Eu perdi a minha paciência. Abri-lhe um livro de história e mostrei-lhe o que era aquilo, falei-lhe das atrocidades daquele tempo, e mesmo assim ele estava-se a c**** para aquilo!

Percebi algo naquele dia: o que aprendi na minha curta vida que é uma certeza absoluta é que a história não pode ser esquecida, seja ela história pessoal, história humanitária, história científica, história universal, literalmente tudo o que aconteceu no passado. Mas o facto de um rapaz de 15 anos não querer saber do Holocausto só prova porque é que o mundo está prestes a voltar ao mesmo, porque a história foi esquecida, porque já ninguém se lembra do que aconteceu e das suas consequências para a Terra e para todos os seres vivos. Em 2014, eu visitei Auschwitz, Polónia, o maior campo de concentração, e aquele maldito lugar transformou-se num ponto de turismo. Eu vi pessoas a tirar fotografias e a sorrir para a câmara, eu vi pessoas a comentar os sapatos no museu que eram tão feios que as pessoas nunca os deviam ter usado, em vez de se focarem no número de pessoas que representavam. Eu vi pessoas a falarem alto, sem qualquer respeito pelos mortos na câmara de gás principal do campo de concentração. É o velho ditado: deve-se aprender a perdoar e avançar com a vida, mas isso não quer dizer que se tenha de esquecer o que aconteceu. Aprende-se com isso, para que a história não se volte a repetir. Esta lição aplica-se a tudo na vida. É uma lição para a vida!

Ensinar uma disciplina na escola já é difícil, mas como é que ensinamos crianças, as próximas gerações, estes assuntos e problemáticas? Sobre o verdadeiro significado da história, o que foi, e como podemos mudar o mundo não repetindo os mesmos erros outra vez? Como ensinamos que a matemática é uma seca mas que é necessária em todas as actividades da nossa vida? Como ensinamos que as línguas são importantes para comunicar com os outros? Que nenhuma língua é realmente universal, mas que é sempre possível comunicar aprendendo a língua dos outros, em vez de nos focarmos só na nossa, como se fosse a única que importasse? Como ensinamos a importância de entender porque é que chove, e como chove, porque neva na montanha e não na praia? Claro que nenhum destes miúdos tem a maturidade ou a idade para compreender porquê, mas ao menos podiam acreditar em nós, os mais velhos, quando lhes dizemos que neste preciso momento eles não vão compreender, apenas aprender, mas que no futuro tudo se vai encaixar? Que eles vão entender o porquê das coisas? Esta é para mim a derradeira questão! Como ensinar os miúdos sobre tudo o que é realmente importante?

Da próxima vez espero poder contar-vos algo de grande felicidade, pois um grande dia se aproxima, porque nem tudo na vida é mau.

Até breve

Ana

Published by

anavingada

I'm dreamer and a writer. Changing the world is my greatest ambition. I studied International Relations and I love everything related to the environment and animal species. I never miss a chance to travel feel the adrenaline of trying on new things. Dancing is my hobby and Capoeira is my passion. Chocolate and movies are my addictions. Life is a challenge! "Laughter is timeless, imagination has no age, and dreams are forever." Walt Disney

Leave a Reply

