Snow Falls / Quedas de neve

People say “snow falls” and you assume it comes from the sky, but not in this case. As you know, I took the challenge of snowboarding away in Sierra Nevada, Spain, and after a two hour class with a very patient teacher, I was told to try out the green tracks, the first inclination level.

Well, my aunt thought that I was definitely ready, so I went with the entire group. The first challenge of all was getting on the lift benches to go to the top of the track. I felt ridiculous, for I could barely stand on my board with only one foot attached and slide gently with the other one. People helped that for sure, but I made a point of saying that it was my first track ever! The ride up took about 5 minutes of joyful talk, from which I took an enormous advantage to not panic about what was coming. At some point, of course I wasn’t prepared yet, my aunt told me to get ready to get out of the bench to a moving carpet to slide directly to the snow.

It was not so great to be fair. I put my board in the track and immediately lost my balance. I had at least two people holding me so I didn’t fall (again). The thing with having only one foot stuck into your board is that you can put the other one on your board but you can’t let it go, otherwise you fall. Guess what? My foot ran away from the board unintentionally and I fell in the middle of the track where everybody was putting everything together to slide down the track. It was also the place where people got out of the moving carpet. So, it was interesting for I was an obstacle to avoid. I couldn’t get up as quickly as I should, so I detached the board and walked to the side of track to put the board again.

With everything and everybody ready, it was time to make my first (green) track ever.

I looked very gently down and thought to myself: “Shoot, this is high as funk! I’m going to fall on my butt a million times and kill myself along the way!”

“Ready?”Said my aunt. I took this as a huge encouragement and through myself to the track. Remember me telling you that I seriously had to learn how to control my speed? Everything was going fine at the beginning but as I was heading to an incredible speed and I had to change my direction or things would get bad serious. So in a portion of a second, I tried to remember everything that my instructor had said about controlling speed and I couldn’t remember absolutely anything so I improvised. Bum! I fell. What an incredible fall it was, if filmed it would certainly deserve to go to some kind of fail blog. And now the snow: the fall was so heavy and so pathetic that the snow all around me rose with the impact and fell all over me. It looked like it was snowing for a few seconds.

And there I was in a very awkward position trying to get up only to fall again and again. So, I turned my body, worked hard on my abs and got up on my knees. Imagine a relatively long track, especially for someone who had never done it before, and now imagine stupid and wretched falls with me on it and there you have. My entire first track was so awesome at this point, that I spent more time freaking out and falling of my ass than actually enjoying the ride.

So, I made a decision: I told my awesome companions to go slide their own very difficult tracks (they were sliding level blue, red and black – real pro slides!).

And there I was again, only this time alone and with no one to help me from falling again after reaching the top of the track. I apologise to everybody, and chose three languages to say it. So every time I had to say something to anybody while I was alone I spoke in Portuguese, English and Spanish to make sure that everybody understood me. It worked! “I’m sorry, I’m a newbie, so forgive me for being completely out of control.”

So this was my first day of snowboarding. Going up and down as many times as I could, and every time I slid down that green track that I almost knew by heart, I could say that I had a little more control over what I was doing, until, of course, someone passed me and blew my concentration out. Then I was down again and every time the snow fell over me and I had the magic impression that I made snowing.

The second day was dominated by a terrifying fog, and the snow was all wet from the huge amount of rain that had fallen the night before, so I reluctantly stayed in the hotel. But on my third day I actually saw the sun.

I didn’t tell you this. But even though I was lying on the snow for most of my time, I actually was courageous enough to do it with fog, a fog that with the passing of the day became more and more thick. So by the time my day was done, I couldn’t see anything from more than one meter again from me.

But on my third say I finally enjoyed the ride. I had one day of experience and my muscles all burnt out from so many falls and I slid down a green track like a real pro with the snow shining from sunlight and with a smile. I had the velocity, the wind on my face and an attitude of not giving a damn if I fell once again on that track. It was pretty awesome!

But unfortunately, paradise couldn’t last forever, and so I decided to slide on last track before the fog took over with my companions. My aunt actually persuaded me to go on a blue track.

I believe it was destiny, for I had to do one last track with style right? At least I thought I did. So, what happened? That blue track was awesome, for I didn’t fall once. But we had to go up one last lift and slide on more track to reach the main stop and be able to go to our hotel.

When you went on that lift it was awful, we didn’t see absolutely anything, and I didn’t know anything about the track I was about to slide. I got out of the lift and fell gracefully (not so much really) on my knees and took a look into the fall. “Dear mother of god, what the hell is this? This fall is much more huge than the green or the blue one. Where the hell am I? I don’t have much choice here: or I will stay up here and wait for someone to save me, or I slide this horrific fall and finish this adventure vacation with a bang!” I chose the bang!

The track was extremely long, one of the longest of the entire ski resort and we couldn’t see anything. We oriented ourselves from screaming at each others’ directions and tips to survive that fall. It was going great for me until my board failed from sliding a huge puddle of pure ice. I fell, but this was not a ridiculous fall. I fell on my front, hit the ground with my arms, and my head hit next a piece of ice. Everything hurt like hell, I could barely move, and the fog was making me sick and disoriented. To finish that track was very difficult. I was incredibly sick and the sensation that my head was somehow out of its place. And the fog became worst and worst, but no track can last forever, and so we reached the end where so many people were already in line to get down to the hotels. I was still standing on my board miraculously, until I had to stop. I had no idea what was going on but I was having trouble turning, so I took a shout out to everyone in front me to just move. I ended with a bang as I expected. I had a lot of people laughing at me from falling again in a clownish way with snow falling all over me.

Don’t get scared about this last part, it happens. I have one more dream accomplished and some more adventures to tell. Snowboarding is actually a very interesting and challenging sport. And even though you fall thousands or millions of times, it’s always fun as long as you take it cool, because if you get pissed about not snowboarding well, then it’s going to be a horrible experience. As I’m always telling: It’s just about enjoying the ride no matter how many falls. Those falls make sliding down so much more fun. Without those falls, I couldn’t see snow falling just for me, that’s for sure!

I’ll see you guys! For next time, another subject!

Ana


As pessoas dizem “cai neve” e assumem logo que vem do céu, mas não neste caso. Como sabem, eu aceitei o desafio de ir fazer snowboard para Sierra Nevada, em Espanha, e depois de duas horas de aula com um instrutor muito paciente, foi-me dito para experimentar as pistas verdes, com o primeiro nível de inclinação.

Bem, a minha tia pensava que eu estava pronta, então acompanhei o grupo às pistas. O primeiro desafio de todos foi entrar no teleférico e sentar-me. Senti-me ridícula, pois mal conseguia equilibrar-me só com um pé preso na prancha e gentilmente fazê-la deslizar com o outro pé. As pessoas ajudaram-me, mas eu fiz questão de dizer que era a minha primeira pista de sempre! A viagem até ao topo durou uns 5 minutos de boa conversa, da qual tirei uma enorme vantagem para não panicar sobre o que vinha a seguir. A certo ponto, para o qual não estava ainda preparada, a minha tia disse-me para me preparar para sair do banco e pousar a prancha numa carpete andante e deslizar directamente para a neve.

Não me safei lá muito bem para ser sincera. Pus a prancha na neve e perdi imediatamente o equilíbrio. Uma pessoa de um lado e outra do outro e lá me consegui desenrascar para não cair (outra vez). O problema de ter só um pé preso à prancha é que temos de pôr o pé solto algures na prancha sem que ele fuja do sítio, caso contrário nova queda. Adivinhem só! O meu pé escapou-se da prancha e caí no meio da pista onde estava o povo todo a sair do teleférico acumulado para descer. Tornei-me num obstáculo interessante a evitar. Como não me conseguia levantar assim tão facilmente, larguei a prancha, levantei-me e fui para um canto escondido tentar passar despercebida.

Com tudo e todos prontos, estava na altura de descer a minha primeira pista (verde) de sempre. Olhei cuidadosamente para baixo e pensei: “Xiça, isto é alto para caraças! Eu vou cair de cu milhões de vezes e matar-me a meio da descida!”

“Pronta?” Perguntou a minha tia. Levei isto como grande encorajamento e atirei-me para a pista. Lembram-se de eu vos contar que eu tinha seriamente de aprender a controlar a velocidade? Estava tudo a correr muito bem no início mas como estava a acelerar cada vez mais, ou mudava de direcção ou a coisa ia correr mal. Então, numa porção de segundo, tentei lembrar-me de tudo o que o meu instrutor disse sobre como controlar a velocidade e não me vinha nada à cabeça, então tive de improvisar. Bum! Caí. Que grande queda que foi, se filmado tinha de ir parar a uma espécie de fail blog. E agora a neve: a queda foi tão pesada e tão patética que a neve à minha volta levantou com o impacto e caiu toda em cima de mim. Parecia que estava a nevar por alguns segundos.

E lá estava eu numa posição embaraçosa a tentar levantar-me mas sem grande sucesso. Então, virei o corpo, trabalhei os abdominais e levantei-me de joelhos. Imaginem uma pista relativamente longa, principalmente para alguém que nunca tenha experimentado antes, e agora imaginem quedas estúpidas e miseráveis comigo e têm toda a cena. Toda a minha primeira pista foi tão altamente que passei mais tempo a passar-me e a cair na neve do que propriamente a desfrutar da adrenalina. Então tomei uma decisão: deixei os meus companheiros descer as pistas difíceis deles (eles já desciam pistas azuis, vermelhas e pretas – grandes pros naquilo!).

E lá fiquei eu outra vez, só que desta vez sozinha, sem ninguém para me impedir de cair outra vez a sair do teleférico no topo da pista. Pedia desculpa a toda a gente em três línguas diferentes para ter a certeza absoluta que todos me entendiam. “Peço desculpa, sou uma novata, perdoei-me por estar completamente fora de controlo.”

O meu primeiro dia de snowboard foi assim. Subir e descer o máximo de vezes possível, e de cada vez que deslizava pela pista, que quase sabia de cor, ganhava um pouco mais de controlo sobre o que estava a fazer, até que alguém passava por mim e desconcentrava-me. Nesses momentos estava outra vez no chão. E todas as vezes a neve caía sobre mim, e eu tinha a mágica impressão de que tinha feito nevar.

O Segundo dia foi invadido por um nevoeiro aterrorizador e a neve estava toda encharcada da chuvadela da noite anterior, então relutantemente deixei-me estar no hotel. Mas no terceiro dia eu vi o sol.

Não vos contei esta parte. Mas apesar de passar a maior parte do tempo na neve, eu fui corajosa o suficiente para fazer as pistas com nevoeiro, um nevoeiro que com o passar do dia ficava cada vez mais espesso. No final do dia, mal conseguia ver para além de um metro de mim.

Mas no meu terceiro dia eu finalmente desfrutei da viagem. Só tinha um dia de experiência e os meus músculos estavam todos esgotados de tantas quedas, mas desci aquela pista verde como uma verdadeira pro com a neve a brilhar de tanta luz do sol, a sorrir. Tinha velocidade, o vento a dar-me na cara e uma atitude de não querer saber se ia cair outra vez. Foi altamente!

Mas, infelizmente, o paraíso não pode durar eternamente, então decidi descer uma última pista com os meus companheiros antes de o nevoeiro chegar. A minha tia persuadiu-me a descer uma pista azul.

Era o destino, eu tinha de acabar em grande estilo certo? Pelo menos eu pensava que sim. Que aconteceu? Aquela pista azul foi altamente, pois não caí uma única vez. Mas tivemos de subir novo teleférico e descer outra pista para chegar ao ponto principal e descer para o hotel. Uma vez no segundo teleférico o nevoeiro não permitia ver absolutamente nada, e para mim era ainda mais desconfortável pois não conhecia a pista que ia descer. Saí do teleférico e caí graciosamente (nem por isso) de joelhos e olhei para baixo. “Mãezinha de deus, mas que inferno é este? Esta queda é bem maior que qualquer pista verde ou azul. Onde raio estou eu? Não tenho grande escolha: ou fico aqui à espera que me venham salvar ou deslizo por esta queda horrorosa e acabo a aventura com um bang!” Escolhi o bang!

A pista era muito longa, a maior de toda a estância e não conseguia ver nada. Orientámo-nos a gritar uns para os outros direcções e dicas para sobreviver à queda. Estava a correr minimamente bem até a minha prancha falhar ao deslizar por uma poça de gelo puro. Caí de frente, bati com os braços, e a minha cabeça bateu de seguida um bom pedaço de gelo. Tudo doía como o caraças, mal me podia mexer, e o nevoeiro desorientou-me e pôs-me mal disposta. Para acabar aquela pista foi muito difícil. Estava mesmo enjoada, com a sensação que a minha cabeça tinha saído do sítio. O nevoeiro piorava a cada segundo, mas como nenhuma pista pode durar eternamente acabámos por chegar ao fim, onde as pessoas estavam já todas acumuladas para descer para os hotéis. Ainda estava miraculosamente de pé na prancha, até que tive de parar. Não sei o que se passou, mas não estava a conseguir virar, então berrei para que todos à minha volta de afastassem. Acabei a aventura com um bang, tal como estava à espera. Pus as pessoas a rir, o que é sempre bom, por uma queda engraçada e com a neve a cair toda à minha volta.

Não se assustem com esta última parte, pois acontece. Já concretizei mais um sonho e já tenho mais aventuras para contar. Snowboard é um desporto muito interessante, cheio de desafios. Apesar de se cair milhões de vezes, é sempre divertido desde que se leve a experiência numa boa, porque ficar zangado por não estar a fazer as coisas em condições, só vai fazer com que seja uma má experiência. Como estou sempre a dizer: é desfrutar da viagem sem contar as quedas. Aquelas quedas tornaram a descida muito mais divertida. Sem aquelas quedas, não podia ter visto neve a cair só para mim, isso é que é uma certeza!

Até à próxima! Da próxima vez, outro assunto!

Ana

Published by

anavingada

I'm dreamer and a writer. Changing the world is my greatest ambition. I studied International Relations and I love everything related to the environment and animal species. I never miss a chance to travel feel the adrenaline of trying on new things. Dancing is my hobby and Capoeira is my passion. Chocolate and movies are my addictions. Life is a challenge! "Laughter is timeless, imagination has no age, and dreams are forever." Walt Disney

Leave a Reply

