O que mudou? / What changed?

Olá Pessoal!

Pisei solo português há quase 2 meses e ainda não vos contei o que é que mudou. Suponho que nunca é tarde para vos contar, portanto, perguntem-me: “O que mudou?” E eu respondo: “Muita coisa!”

Por onde começar? Essa é que é a pergunta difícil! Não consigo simplesmente enumerar as mudanças. Ao escrever, elas vão aparecendo.

O Jet lag quase que me matou, tenho de confessar. Quando cheguei ao Brasil foi muito mais fácil adaptar-me, porque podia estar acordada até tarde. Mas, quando em Portugal, a situação reverteu-se: tudo o que eu fazia era bem mais cedo do que estava habituada. Então, quando era suposto eu comer uma refeição portuguesa deliciosa como almoço, tinha mas é vontade de beber iogurte, porque no Brasil era hora de acordar. Durante duas semanas estive acordada até às 4 da manhã em Portugal, porque no Brasil era só meia-noite.

Lembram-se de quando me fartei de resmungar com o facto de ter de estar sempre atenta às horas para ligar para casa do Brasil, por causa da diferença horária? Bem, a situação também se reverteu, e é tão complicada como a primeira. Eu tenho o imenso prazer de ter grandes amigos no Brasil, então são boas notícias comunicar-vos que continuo em contacto com eles, diariamente! Mas o problema é que recebo imensas mensagens a dizer bom dia quando, para mim, é hora do almoço. Agora que o jet lag desapareceu, ainda acordo às 3 e 4 da manhã quase todas as noites a receber mensagens de boa noite porque é a essa hora que, no Brasil, as pessoas vão dormir. Mesmo assim, pessoas, por favor continuem a mandar-me mensagens a horas inapropriadas, e não estou a ser irónica. Eu gosto de manter o contacto, e não me importo de acordar imensamente cedo para isso.

Tenho mesmo de comentar sobre um outro problema, e eventualmente avisar aqueles que sofrem do mesmo que eu: a comida! Esquisito ah? Eu adoro comida portuguesa, e no Brasil descobri que adoooooooro comida brasileira, mas eis a dificuldade: mudar os hábitos alimentares tem as suas desvantagens (vamos chamar-lhe isso) e as suas consequências (vamos também chamar-lhe isso). Quando cheguei ao Brasil ligava constantemente à minha mãe a pedir conselhos em como lidar com as dores de estômago. É verdade, eu tenho um estômago sensível que eventualmente se habituou demasiado à comida brasileira e aos seus ingredientes. O problema é que o estômago esqueceu-se da comida portuguesa e estranhou eu sair do Brasil e trocar a comida brasileira pela portuguesa.

Outra coisa que mudou é o facto de agora ter companhia para ir às compras. Soa um pouco estranho, mas é importante para mim. Toda a minha vida ajudei a minha mãe a ir às compras, então é bom voltar aos velhos hábitos. O que não é bom é que os produtos mudaram! Habituei-me à manteiga e ao iogurte, ao pão, às bolachas, enfim, e quando voltei para casa, tive de encontrar substitutos para os produtos brasileiros, a começar pela manteiga. Agora é oficial que como manteiga sem sal, obrigada Brasil. Não encontrei substituto para os rebuçados maravilhosos de iogurte à venda no supermercado Futurama. Tenho muitas saudades deles! Portanto, se alguém vier a Portugal por favor tragam-me rebuçados de iogurte! E, claro, tenho terríveis saudades dos pastéis. Peço desculpa, mas não posso evitar!

Vou continuar num outro dia. Muito mudou, é verdade!

Tudo de bom, e até breve.

Ana

Hi guys!

I stepped on Portuguese soil almost 2 months ago and I didn’t actually tell you what changed. I suppose it’s never too late to say it, so, “what changed?” you may ask. And I answer: “quite a lot!”

Where to start? That’s the hard question! I believe I can’t enumerate all the changes. As I write, most of them just come out.

The jet lag almost killed me, I must confess. When I arrived in Brazil it was much more easier to adapt, because I could stay up late. But, when in Portugal, the situation was quite the reverse: everything I did was much earlier than I got used to. So, when it was supposed for me to eat a very nice Portuguese dish for lunch, I was actually more eager to drink some yogurt, because in Brazil it was just wake up time. I stood up awake for 2 entire weeks until 4 a.m. in Portugal, because in Brazil it was just midnight.

Remember when I grumbled about the fact that I had to pay a lot of attention to the time to call home from Brazil, because of the time difference? Well, the situation is also reverse, and as complicated as the first. I have the pleasure of having the best friends in Brazil, so it’s very good news to say to you that I still keep in touch, daily! But the complicated thing is that I receive quite a lot of messages saying good morning when, for me, it’s actually lunch time. Now that the jet lag is gone, I still wake up from 3 to 4 a.m. almost every night receiving messages of good night because that’s the time, in Brazil, that people are going to bed. Anyway, people, please continue sending me messages at this inappropriate time, and I’m not being ironic. I like to keep in touch, I don’t mind waking up extremely early for that.

Other thing that I absolutely have to comment, and eventually warn some people that might suffer from the same problem: the food! Weird ah? I love Portuguese food, and in Brazil I found out that I loooooooove Brazilian food, but here’s the catch: Changing food habits has its disadvantages (let’s call it that) and consequences (let’s also call it that). When I arrived in Brazil I called my mother a few times asking for some advice on how to deal with constant stomachaches. That’s right, I have a sensitive stomach that eventually got very used to Brazilian food and all its ingredients. The problem is that the stomach pretty much forgot the Portuguese food and found it weird when I left Brazil and switched Brazilian food by the Portuguese one.

Other thing that changed was the fact that I have now company to go shopping for groceries. This sounds awkward, but it is important for me. All my life I’ve helped my mother with shopping, so it was good to return to these old habits. But what is not good is that the products changed! I got used to the butter and to the yogurt, the bread, the cookies, whatever, and, when I returned home, I had to find some products that would replace the Brazilian ones, starting with the butter. I officially now eat butter without salt, thanks Brazil! I haven’t found replacement for the wonderful yogurt sweet sold in Futurama, the supermarket in Brazil. I miss them like crazy! So, if anybody comes to Portugal, please bring some yogurt sweet! And, of course, I terribly miss my pastries! Sorry, I can’t help it!

I will continue some other day. Much has changed, indeed its true!

All the best, and see you soon.

Ana

Published by

anavingada

I'm dreamer and a writer. Changing the world is my greatest ambition. I studied International Relations and I love everything related to the environment and animal species. I never miss a chance to travel feel the adrenaline of trying on new things. Dancing is my hobby and Capoeira is my passion. Chocolate and movies are my addictions. Life is a challenge! "Laughter is timeless, imagination has no age, and dreams are forever." Walt Disney

Leave a Reply

