Is this Rio? / Isto é o Rio?

Hi Guys!

Sorry I’ve been again for a few days, but on Thursday it was a holiday here in Brazil, so I took the opportunity to go to Rio de Janeiro, the wonderful city, as it’s called.

The description, impressions, crazy things and everything else will be told in a few posts. There are too many things to say so it will take some time. But relax, at least you will have a full description of the city and beyond!

Ok. Let’s start from the beginning. I got out of work on Wednesday to leave everything ready. I even took the time to go to capoeira. It was a very good day for capoeira, but I left earlier, even tough it wasn’t so much. I took a bath real quickly, got dressed, fetched my bags, and literally ran to the subway, where Bia was waiting for me.
I didn’t take two steps and it came to my mind some things that I forgot to bring for the trip, like toothpaste. I don’t know what’s wrong with me, but I always forget my toothpaste! And it was on the list! Please somebody tell me, why do I have a list if I don’t pay attention to it?

Anyway, we took the subway to the station Luz, and then we changed lines to go to Portuguesa-Tietê, where we were going to catch our bus to Rio, leaving at 00h30. As soon as I sat down in my seat, I fell asleep! The journey, even so, was not very good. I couldn’t find a comfortable position, and I woke up a few times, until, finally, we arrived to Rio de Janeiro at 7h00. The first thing that I thought was “Uh! I have to pee!”. I got out of the bus with all my things and all I could see was a huge amount of people almost as lost as me looking everywhere for the exit.
Let’s be honest, that bus station was incredibly disorganized and small for so many people. Still, I needed to pee, so I had to pass through the confusion to reach to a bathroom where I had to pay! “If I’m paying and least let it be clean!” I was wrong. It was not the worst place to pee in the world, but it was not good also. So, my first impression of Rio was “that smells like pee and it’s not clean!”

Despite the bathroom, it had tourist information! Thank god, let me just say, otherwise we would probably get incredibly lost! I asked for some maps and got information on the bus to Ipanema.
I got out of the station and freaked! “Fake” taxi drivers offering you a ride, with horrible appearance and probably trying to mug you. If not them, some guys that walked around there certainly seemed to want to do so.
The streets around the station were being renewed, and the view was not at all promising. I crossed the street searching for a bus to the city. I don’t have words! Horrible, just. And at the horizon “favela”!

“Wait! Is this Rio?”

Wait for tomorrow. It gets better!

See you!
Ana

Olá Pessoal!

Peço desculpa pelos dias sem escrever, mas na Quinta foi feriado aqui no Brasil, então aproveitei a oportunidade para ir ao Rio de Janeiro, a cidade maravilhosa, como é chamada.

A descrição, as impressões, as coisas malucas, e tudo o resto vão ser contadas em alguns posts. Há demasiadas coisas a dizer, portanto vai levar algum tempo. Mas relaxem, que ao menos vão ter uma descrição completa da cidade e demais!

Ok, vamos começar pelo princípio. Saí do trabalho na quarta para pôr tudo prontinho. Até tive tempo de ir à capoeira. Foi um dia para treinar, mas tive de sair mais cedo, apesar de não ser assim tão cedo. Tomei um banho super rápido, vesti-me, peguei na mala e corri até ao metro, onde a Bia estava à minha espera.
Não dei dois passos e lembrei-me de algumas coisas que me esqueci de trazer para a viagem, como a pasta de dentes. Eu não sei o que há de errado comigo, mas esqueço-me sempre da pasta de dentes! E estava na lista! Alguém, explique-me, porque é que eu tenho uma lista se não lhe presto atenção?

Enfim. Lá apanhámos o metro até à Luz, e depois trocámos de linha até à Portuguesa Tietê, onde íamos apanhar o autocarro para o Rio, a partir à 00h30. Assim que me sentei no meu lugarzinho adormeci! A viagem, apesar de tudo, não foi assim tão boa. Não consegui arranjar uma posição confortável, e acordei imensas vezes, até que, finalmente, chegámos ao Rio de Janeiro às 7 da manhã. A primeira coisa que pensei foi: “uh! Tenho de fazer xixi!”. Saí do autocarro com as minhas coisas e só via pessoas por todo o lado, quase tão perdidas como eu, à procura de uma saída.
Vamos ser honestos, a estação de autocarros é incrivelmente desorganizada e pequena para tanta gente. Mesmo assim, ainda tinha de ir fazer xixi, então tive que passar pela confusão para chegar à casa de banho e ter de pagar!. “Se estou a pagar, ao menos que seja limpa!” Enganei-me. Não era o pior sítio do mundo para fazer as necessidades, mas também não era muito bom. Então, a minha primeira impressão do Rio foi “que cheira a mijo e não é limpo!”.

Apesar da casa de banho da treta, tinha um posto de turismo. Ainda bem, diga-se desde já de passagem, caso contrário nós provavelmente íamos-nos perder! Pedi alguns mapas e informação sobre o autocarro para Ipanema.
Saí da Estação e assustei-me. Taxistas independentes, com um aspecto horrível, que estariam a tentar assaltar-te. Se não eles, alguns homens que para lá andavam tinham mesmo aspecto de quem o ia fazer.
As ruas à volta da estação estavam em obras, e a vista não tinha nada de promissor. Atravessei a estrada à procura de um autocarro para a cidade. Não tenho palavras. Horrível, simplesmente. E no horizonte, Favela!

“Esperem, isto é o Rio?”

Esperem por amanhã, que fica melhor!

Até breve

Ana

Published by

anavingada

I'm dreamer and a writer. Changing the world is my greatest ambition. I studied International Relations and I love everything related to the environment and animal species. I never miss a chance to travel feel the adrenaline of trying on new things. Dancing is my hobby and Capoeira is my passion. Chocolate and movies are my addictions. Life is a challenge! "Laughter is timeless, imagination has no age, and dreams are forever." Walt Disney

Leave a Reply

