How I found Capoeira / Como encontrei a capoeira.

Hi guys! How is everybody doing?
Despite having a lot of energy, I must tell you that today all I want is some beauty sleep! I’m at work right now and I’m trying very hard to stay awake and actually have some work done. But considering that’s kind of difficult this moment, I decided to come here and tell the story of how I found Capoeira.

When we arrived in São Paulo, we (me and the people that came with me) had a lot in our minds. We had to find a suitable hostel where we wouldn’t be afraid our things to disappear out of the blue, and eventually, we had to find a house, even though we didn’t know anything about the city.

So, imagine three lost people, that didn’t know each other, but, thank god, got along, hanging around from one street to another in the region of Pinheiros, São Paulo, knocking on every door that would have a sign to rent, asking if there was any apartment available for three people at a reasonable price.

Well, this lovely routine lasted for 2 entire weeks, where we had to go to work and find a house in spare hours. To all this, add rain and no place to wait for it to stop. We got soaked a couple of times, but it was no big deal. The weather was, at the same time, so hot, that the clothes dried almost instantaneously!

Two weeks past, we found a house, in the region of Pinheiros, near the famous street Brigadeiro Faria Lima (please check the map!), and all of sudden I found myself at home!

I had a bed, a very comfortable one by the way, and a closet to put my clothes, and some shelves to put my books and everything was falling in to its place. A routine of work/home was established and I started to feel bad about myself. Is this going to be my life? No! I had to find something to make as a hobby! I was still getting to know all the Portuguese people that came with me, so I didn’t enjoy the city as much as I wished to.
Until a very special day came! On March the 20th, my internship coordinator organized a gathering in the Portuguese Consulate, for all the trainees in the São Paulo Region get to know each other. There I heard the first compliment to my work as a trainee, which got me all excited, and then I got to know Ana Rita, who is staying in São José dos Campos, a city a few km from São Paulo. On the same night, a person, that I thought didn’t like me at all, become a pretty good friend of mine. You can imagine who that is: Ana Beatriz!

That weekend we took the time to show Ana Rita a bit of São Paulo. It was too much fun to be true! On Sunday, we decided to go to Ibirapuera Park, an endlessness of green, trees and lake!
There, Bea and I discovered that we could be great friends, I mean, we both love Tim Burton. There’s no doubt that we were meant to be friends!
Some concerts were happening in the Park, so there was a huge amount of people there. I don’t remember how we got to one place and there’s a circle of people listening to a different music and dancing. I got so close of curiosity that I could see everything, people that looked like they were fighting with each other… Capoeira!
“Ei, do you want to try Capoeira with me?” Bea asked me.
The week after, I spent some time researching about Capoeira, and where we could learn it. I found two schools that looked very cool, but it was expensive and only 2 days a week for just an hour! I didn’t give up though. I wrote on google maps “Capoeira, Pinheiros, São Paulo”. And there it was “Casa Senzala”, 3 minutes from my house. And I thought: “Awesome!”
I went the day after to talk to a dark, tall man, with a very nice smile which turned out to be the teacher, or, on this case, the master himself! Everything was great about the school. Two days later, Bea and I were jumping around in class learning the moves of Capoeira. The next day, a Friday, we were participating in the Circle of Capoeira, and I fell in love with it, and continued practicing ever since.

Hope you guys liked the story!
It certainly made an important memory for me.
Peace and Hugs, as the master says!

Ana

Olá Pessoal! Como está tudo por aí?
Apesar de ter muita energia, tenho de confessar que hoje só queria dormir! Estou no trabalho neste momento e estou a tentar manter-me acordada e fazer alguma coisa de produtivo. Mas considerando que está a ser muito difícil, decidi passar pelo blog para vos contar a história de como encontrei a Capoeira.

Quando chegámos a São Paulo, nós (eu e os meus colegas) tínhamos muito na nossa cabeça. Tínhamos de encontrar um hostel onde não tivéssemos receio de que as nossas coisas desaparecessem, e tínhamos eventualmente de encontrar uma casa, apesar de não conhecermos nada acerca da cidade.

Imaginem então 3 pessoas desorientadas, que não se conheciam de lado nenhum, mas que até se estavam a dar bem, a circular de uma rua para a outra na região de Pinheiros, São Paulo, a bater em todas as portas que tivessem um sinal de aluguer, a perguntar se havia algum apartamento disponível para três pessoas a um preço razoável.

Bem, esta rotina maravilhosa durou 2 semanas, em que tínhamos de ir trabalhar e encontrar casa nas horas vagas. A tudo isto, adicionem chuva e nenhum sítio para esperarmos que ela parasse. Ficámos encharcados umas quantas vezes, mas sem grandes dramas. O tempo estava, ao mesmo tempo, tão quente, que as roupas secavam quase instantaneamente!

Duas semanas depois, encontrámos uma casa, na região de Pinheiros, perto da famosa rua de Brigadeiro Faria Lima (por favor verifiquem o mapa!), e de repente eu senti-me em casa!

Tinha uma cama, uma cama muito confortável, um armário para pôr as roupas, e algumas prateleiras para pôr os meus livros, e tudo parecia estar a encaixar-se. Uma rotina trabalho/casa formou-se e eu comecei a sentir-me um pouco mal. Ia ser isto a minha vida? Não! Eu tinha de arranjar qualquer coisa para fazer como hobby! Ainda estava a conhecer os portugueses que também vieram para São Paulo, então não estava a aproveitar a cidade tanto quanto desejava.

Até que chegou um dia muito especial! A 20 de Março, o meu coordenador de estágio organizou um encontro no Consulado de Portugal, para que todos os estagiários da região de São Paulo se pudessem conhecer. Lá eu ouvi o primeiro elogio ao meu trabalho como estagiária, o que me pôs logo muito mais entusiasmada, e conheci a Ana Rita, que está a viver em São José dos Campos, uma cidade a alguns km de distância de São Paulo. Nessa mesma noite uma pessoa, que pensava que não gostava absolutamente nada de mim, tornou-se grande amiga minha. Podem adivinhar quem é: a Ana Beatriz!

Nesse fim de semana dedicámos o nosso tempo a mostrar à Ana Rita São Paulo. Foi demasiado divertido para ser verdade. No domingo decidimos ir ao Parque Ibirapuera, uma imensidão de verde, árvores e lago!

No Parque, a Bea e eu descobrimos que podíamos ser amigas, do género, ambas adoramos Tim Burton. Não há dúvidas que estávamos destinadas a ser amigas!
Alguns concertos estava a decorrer no Parque, então tinha muita gente amontoada. Não me lembro como é que chegámos a um local e está uma roda de pessoas a tocar uma música diferente e a dançar. Aproximei-me tanto com a curiosidade a pulsar que pude ver tudo, pessoas que pareciam estar a lutar uma com a outra… Capoeira!
“Ei, queres experimentar Capoeira comigo?” Perguntou-me a Bea.

Durante a semana seguinte, passei algum tempo a pesquisar sobre a Capoeira, e onde podia aprender. Encontrei duas escolas que me pareciam boas, mas eram caras, com aulas 2 vezes por semana de apenas uma hora! Mas não desisti. Escrito no Google maps “Capoeira, Pinheiros, São Paulo”. E lá estava “Casa Senzala”, a 3 minutos de minha casa. E pensei: “Altamente!”

No dia seguinte estava à porta da escola a falar com um homem negro e alto, com um sorriso muito simpático, que acabou por se identificar como o professor, ou, neste caso, o Mestre! Tudo me parecia perfeito na escola. Dois dias depois a Bea e eu estávamos aos saltos na aula a aprender os movimentos de capoeira. No dia seguinte, uma sexta-feira, estávamos a participar numa Roda de Capoeira, e eu apaixonei-me por aquilo e tenho praticado desde então.

Espero que tenham gostado da história!
É com certeza uma boa memória para mim.
Paz e abraços, como o Mestre diz!

Anamapa

Published by

anavingada

I'm dreamer and a writer. Changing the world is my greatest ambition. I studied International Relations and I love everything related to the environment and animal species. I never miss a chance to travel feel the adrenaline of trying on new things. Dancing is my hobby and Capoeira is my passion. Chocolate and movies are my addictions. Life is a challenge! "Laughter is timeless, imagination has no age, and dreams are forever." Walt Disney

Leave a Reply

