When in the circle of Capoeira… / Quando na Roda de Capoeira…

Hi guys!

Everybody knows the main attractions of Brazil are the beaches (of course!), the bikinis, the huge asses of Brazilian girls in bikinis (this one is special to boys), picanha (meat meat, meat), extremely hot weather (at least for me it is), and a huge concentration of beautiful landscapes and natural resources (in here special attention to Amazonia).
But for me Brazil is all about pastries of cheese and Pizza, the General (the restaurant where I always go), my work in Aicep, the wonderful green of Ibirapuera Park and Capoeira!

As I promised, let me tell you more about this last weekend and the story of how I started learning Capoeira.

This last Friday, 22th of May 2015, I got out of work as usual and went home super happy for it was Friday. But normally people associate Friday to weekend, as they don’t have to work for the next two days, but not me! I actually like what I’m doing. I went home very happy on Friday because Fridays mean “Roda de Capoeira”.
It’s the best day of the week. I practice everyday, but on Friday capoeiristas make an extra effort to get together in class, and it makes all of it much more fun. As I said yesterday, there’s something about the energy that is created around the circle.
But this Friday in particular, I was very eager to go to class. A special Profesor, Master China, came from Rio de Janeiro, to give us a class of Maculelê.
(Please say Maculelê with Brazilian accent, and smile in the end, its awesome!)

It’s refreshing. Even though it’s associated with capoeira, Maculelê is different but as awesome as the first. The time is count up to four and the most important number is three where you have to be ready to confront your dance partner with a… wait for it…stick! Yes. It’s a catchy and contagious dance with a unique rhythm. It creates the sensation of happiness and freedom, and despite the fact that most people take it very seriously, I must confess I was laughing the whole time without afraid of moving because everybody was looking at me.
After that class, I love even more this Brazilian culture and the people, for everybody is there for the same reason, to have a good time and to dance.

I arrived at home at 3 a.m.! And the worst part was that I had to wake up at 8 a.m. to go to the baptism. I got together with three mates from capoeira and there we went. It was an adventure by itself, because in Brazil they are all crazy drivers! If the landscape of buildings wasn’t so fascinating, the capoeira music in the car, the mates and the crazy driver would own up to all fascination!

The best part about baptism: the adrenaline, the fellowship between all the capoeiristas, of different ages, different social standards, different nationalities, different cultures, and different experiences of life. Everybody was laughing at each other, and in the end nobody wanted to stop. The lunch time had passed, and nobody showed signs of wanting to stop to eat.
But here’s the thing, when the Circle was over everybody ran to the food, it was awesome. And again it was almost as we were still in the circle. Nobody left, everybody got together and talked. But it was not enough. I ended up a few more hours enjoying older capoeiristas playing the atabaque in fast rhythm, with beer in my hand, of course.

Please forgive me, I got carried away and this post is already too big.
Tomorrow I will continue and tell you the story of how I started learning capoeira.

Hope you guys enjoyed it!

All the best and see you tomorrow!

Ana

Olá Pessoal!

Todos sabemos que as atracções principais do Brasil são as praias (claro!), os biquínis, os grandes rabos das Brasileiras nos biquínis (algo especial para os rapazes), picanha (carne, carne, carne), um calor extremo (pelo menos para mim), e uma grande concentração de bonitas paisagens e recursos naturais (aqui uma especial atenção para a Amazónia).
Mas para mim, o Brasil são os pastéis de queijo e Pizza, o General (o restaurante onde vou sempre), o meu trabalho na Aicep, o maravilhoso verde do Parque Ibirapuera e… a Capoeira!

Tal como prometido, deixem-me contar-vos mais sobre este fim de semana e a história de como comecei a aprender capoeira.

Na última sexta feira, 22 de Maio de 2015, saí do trabalho como de costume e fui para casa super feliz porque era sexta. Mas normalmente as pessoas associam a sexta-feira ao fim de semana, em que não têm de trabalhar nos dois dias seguintes, mas eu não! Eu até gosto do que estou a fazer no trabalho. Eu fui para casa muito contente na sexta-feira porque sexta-feira significa “Roda de Capoeira”.

É o melhor dia da semana. Pratico todos os dias, mas à sexta os capoeiristas fazem um esforço extra para poderem estar presentes na aula, o que torna tudo muito mais divertido. Tal como disse ontem, há uma energia que surge na Roda de capoeira.
Mas esta sexta em particular, eu estava muito ansiosa pela aula, já que um professor especial, o Mestre China, veio do Rio de Janeiro para nos dar aula de Maculelê.
(Por favor digam Maculelê com sotaque brasileiro, e riam-se no fim, é altamente!)

É surpreendente. Apesar de estar associado à Capoeira, o Maculelê é diferente mas tão fixe como a primeira. Os tempos são contados até 4 e o número mais importante é o 3, onde se tem de estar pronto para confrontar o parceiro de dança com um…esperem…bastão! Sim. É uma dança cativante e contagiante com um ritmo único. Cria a sensação de felicidade e liberdade, e apesar de muita gente levar o maculelê muito a sério, eu tenho de confessar que estive a rir-me o tempo todo sem qualquer receio de me movimentar quando todos estavam a olhar para mim.
Depois daquela aula, ainda gosto mais da cultura Brasileira e das pessoas, pois todos estávamos lá pela mesma razão, pela diversão e pela dança.

Cheguei a casa às 3 da manhã! A pior parte foi que tive de me levantar às 8h para ir para o baptismo. Reuni-me a três colegas da capoeira e lá fomos nós. Foi uma aventura só a viagem, porque no Brasil todos conduzem como doidos! Se a paisagem de prédios não fosse tão fascinante, a música de capoeira no carro, os colegas e a condução maluca tinham toda a fascinação!

A melhor parte do baptismo: a adrenalina, o companheirismo entre os capoeiristas de diferentes idades, diferentes estatutos sociais, diferentes nacionalidades, diferentes culturas, e diferentes experiências de vida. Todos se riam uns para os outros, e no fim ninguém queria parar. A hora do almoço já tinha passado e ninguém mostrava sinais de querer parar para comer.

Mas tenho de dizer, que quando a Roda terminou todos correram para a comida, foi surreal. Mas, de novo, foi como se estivéssemos ainda na Roda. Ninguém se foi embora, juntaram-se e estiveram na conversa. Mas não era suficiente. Passei as horas seguintes a ouvir os capoeiristas mais velhos e tocar o atabaque num ritmo rápido, com cerveja na mão, claro.

Peço desculpa, deixei-me levar e este post já está grande.
Amanhã continuo e conto-vos a história de como comecei a aprender capoeira.

Espero que tenham gostado.

Tudo de bom e até amanhã.

Ana

Published by

anavingada

I'm dreamer and a writer. Changing the world is my greatest ambition. I studied International Relations and I love everything related to the environment and animal species. I never miss a chance to travel feel the adrenaline of trying on new things. Dancing is my hobby and Capoeira is my passion. Chocolate and movies are my addictions. Life is a challenge! "Laughter is timeless, imagination has no age, and dreams are forever." Walt Disney

Leave a Reply

